Looking for our new site?

Moment of Truth Project Launch

Please join us for the launch of the Moment of Truth Project – an effort co-chaired by Erskine Bowles and Senator Alan Simpson that seeks to build on the momentum and prospect for bipartisan compromise created by their work as co-chairs of the President’s National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform.

Mr. Bowles and Senator Simpson will speak about the lessons from the commission, the prospects for bipartisan action on a responsible fiscal package, and their plan to help advance the debate. The event will feature a series of guest speakers including prominent members of Congress, former fiscal commission members, and a number of thought and policy leaders from across the political spectrum. The event will aim to inform those on Capitol Hill about the fiscal challenges facing our nation and the tough choices our country will have to make, and to promote the efforts of those members of Congress interested in moving forward.

Please RSVP or send press inquiries to Conor McKay at mckay@newamerica.net or 202.596.3402.


The Moment of Truth Project is a non-profit, non-partisan effort that seeks to foster honest discussion about the nation’s fiscal challenges, the difficult choices that must be made to solve them, and the potential for bipartisan compromise that can move the debate forward and help set our country on a sustainable path.


  • Erskine Bowles, Co-chair, Moment of Truth Project
  • Senator Alan Simpson (R-WY), Co-chair, Moment of Truth Project
  • Senator Mike Crapo (R-ID)
  • Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL)
  • Senator Tom Coburn (R-OK) (invited)
  • Senator Kent Conrad (D-ND) (invited)
  • Senator Saxby Chambliss (R-GA) (invited)
  • Senator Mark Warner (D-VA) (invited)
  • David Cote, CEO, Honeywell International
  • David Wessel, Wall Street Journal
  • Donald Marron, Director, Tax Policy Center
  • Jeffrey Liebman, Executive Associate Director, OMB
  • David Gergen, CNN (invited)

Event Time and Location

Tuesday, March 8, 2011 - 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Dirksen Senate Office Building, Room 106
Constitution Ave, NE and First St, NE
Washington, DC